The Weirdest Things About the Body in the Bushes Opposite My House

When police found a body on my street, I could not have predicted what would happen

Alexander M. Combstrong
4 min readJun 1, 2023
Photo by Richard Bell on Unsplash

I woke up one morning to see a police van opposite the house, and police tape cordoning off some of the children’s play park there. The trees and bushes that lined the grassed area were made inaccessible to the public, and another police car rolled down the street to join the van. A small white tent was erected.

It wasn’t long until the local paper printed a story online. A body had been found in the bushes. Police weren’t treating it as suspicious.

A few days before, a story had been printed about a missing person, and people were starting to put two and two together. Whether they reached four, we’ll never know.

I’ve never known anything like it to happen before. I live in a small town in the quiet south of England. I’ve never known anyone involved in any kind of criminal or mysterious death. I’ve never known anyone to be killed or die by anything but natural causes. I’ve only ever known one person in my life to be mugged, and that was back when I lived in a big city. He got away with a bruised face. The type of town I live in now is not used to this kind of thing at all, and nor am I.

--

--

Alexander M. Combstrong

Research-backed ways to change your life for the better. Out now: The Confident Introvert’s Handbook. Actor/screenwriter. Forge, Better Humans, Mind Cafe.